top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureriley venable

B + R

Our love story starts in 2010.

Just a couple of 13 year old kids.

Blayke & I found each other on myspace of all places, his skinny boy abs + flirty personality hooked me in.

We texted all the time, we fell asleep on the phone, basically all the cute "first love" kinda stuff. The first time we met, it was on. We literally kissed for like 30 minuets straight (it was also my first time making out with anyone so you know it was awkward & sloppy) We lost touch, I can't remember why we broke up but I'm sure some stupid teenage shit. We both moved on, yet we still stayed in touch, which probably why those relationships didn't work out. It was always like nothing changed. We loved each other. He always knew a way to draw me back in.

He knew he was it for me.

& on some level my young mind knew it too. Let's fast forward to the end of senior year of high school. By this point we've been together <AGAIN> for a year. We were I N S E P E R A B L E. My job was 2 minuets away from his house.

We spent every weekend together.

Went on family trips together.

After getting accepted to college I was nervous. I'd be 3.5 hours away from my best friend. it was hard to wrap my head around not being close to him all the time. fall came & went. Blayke joined the army & we didn't get to talk for 4 months while I was in college.

It was fucking hard. We did however write letters to each other, all about the future & how we couldn't wait to start our life together. We got married in December of 2015 (this is a not so great story) No one tells you that the teenage boy you married wasn't going to stop playing video games when you move in together. Man we got slapped in the face with reality. We struggled a lot. We fought, we eat a lot of dinners on the counter (which was mostly spaghetti because it was $1), we had a 19 year old truck that overheated anywhere we went, & we were 700+ miles from family.

We were broke as a damn joke.

But we loved each other.

The good ALWAYS outweighed the bad.

We were together.

Just us.

& BOOM BAM BABY

8 months into being married I was pregnant.


Scared + excited + overwhelmed

That’s pretty much how we felt for 9 months + 4 days

(the 4 days matters bc she didn’t want to come out)

After 12+ hours of labor baby girl arrived.

Our two was now three & we had to figure out how the fuck to keep a tiny human alive.


Becoming parents caused us to stop focusing on each other.

Everly came first. Always.

We didn’t have a sitter so that meant no date nights.

However, Chili’s became our family’s second home.

So you could say we kinda got out.

We are both introverts so it wasn't a huge deal.


Blayke re-enlisted & went to training in Virginia for 4 months.

He missed a lot of Everly growing up. But I got to visit him, & it was awkward at first. We didn't know how to act around each other. It was hard leaving him.

But finally we got our family back & headed west for el paso.


After getting settled we had DATE NIGHTS.

Saw movies & went to dinner.

Held hands & kissed.

You know all the “first love” stuff I was talking about in the beginning.


Now Blayke is deployed.

Taking him to leave was really really fucking hard.

We talk as much as we can.

Everly (when she’s in the mood) will to him on FaceTime.

& we just count down the days until we are one again.

This was just a little bit of an overview of our relationship.






21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page